United Way of Martin County announces 2019-20 officers and directors

At its July 25 annual meeting, United Way of Martin County announced the officers and directors who will serve on the 2019-2020 board. Comprised of business and community leaders, board members help further the organization’s mission through their decision-making, governance and counsel, as well as hold United Way to high levels of stewardship while fighting for a stronger Martin County.

Gene Zweben, Esq, managing partner at Zweben Law Group, will serve as chair of the board of directors. Zweben has been a strong supporter of United Way for several years and has served on the board since 2015.

Elliot Paul, CAI, president of Elliot Paul & Company Auctions, will serve as chair-elect. Laurie Gaylord, superintendent of the Martin County School District, and Marc Gaylord, Esq., owner of Law Offices of Marc R. Gaylord, P.A., will serve as campaign co-chairs. Mark Roberts, manager at HBK CPAs and Consultants will serve as Treasurer and Denise Ehrich, senior vice president marketing strategist at U.S. Trust, will serve as immediate past chair.

United Way welcomes six new members to the board of directors, including Chuck Geary, Lesser, Lesser, Landy & Smith; Joseph Tumminelli, City of Stuart Police Department; Bryan Garner, NextEra Energy Resources; Yvette Zamoyski, Wells Fargo; Michael Borlaug, Capstone IT and Linda Jaskela, Indian River State College. All board members are heavily involved with advancing United Way of Martin County’s strategic plan and its goal to lift the community through programs that give children the skills to succeed, help residents gain access to care and adopt healthy lifestyles and help adults achieve long-term financial stability so they can support themselves and their families.

“We are fortunate to enjoy the partnership of such an accomplished, passionate group of business leaders who lend their support and guidance to this community,” said Carol G. Houwaart-Diez, United Way of Martin County president and CEO. “Their insight and leadership is invaluable in creating real and lasting community change.”

2019-20 United Way Board of Directors Executive Committee

Chair: Gene Zweben, Esq., Zweben Law Group

Chair-elect: Elliot Paul, Elliot Paul & Company Auctions

Treasurer: Mark Roberts, HBK, CPAs and Consultants

Campaign Chair: Laurie Gaylord, Martin County School District

Secretary: Carol G. Houwaart-Diez, United Way of Martin County

Immediate Past Chair: Denise Ehrich, U.S. Trust


  • Kherri Anderson, Martin County Supervisor of Elections
  • Amy Bottegal, CenterState Bank
  • Michael Borlaug, Capstone IT
  • Thomas Campenni, retired
  • Jane Cebelak, retired
  • Blake Davis, Publix Super Markets
  • Bryan Garner, NextEra Energy Resources
  • Linda Jaskela, Indian River State College.
  • Taryn Kryzda, Martin County Board of County Commissioners
  • Geoff Lieberman, Macy’s, Jensen Beach
  • Ruth Pietruszewski, Martin County Tax Collector's Office
  • Chuck Shaffer, Seacoast Bank 
  • Joseph Tumminelli, City of Stuart Police Department
  • Dave Wishart, Ph.D., United Technologies – Pratt & Whitney
  • Chuck Geary, Lesser, Lesser, Landy & Smith
  • Yvette Zamoyski, Wells Fargo

Ex-Officio • CHARACTER COUNTS! Chair: Robert Tweeddale, Merrill Lynch